Whole Living & Wholesome Muesli

Typically, the ideal day for making goals is January 1, but let’s get out of the box and make some on January 31. I am in an interesting place in my life right now. In less than 5 months, I will be done with my dietetic internship and will be taking a huge step in independence, entering the workforce and taking on more responsibilities as an “adult.”

Knowing that this is ahead of me, I have done a lot of self-evaluating since moving to Nashville. I have taken a look at my lifestyle habits, and there are areas that I am not satisfied with. As an advocate for healthy living, it is important to me to always strive to be the best me I can possibly be. I want the most I can get out of life, and I feel that treating my body, mind, & spirit well is a way to honor & worship God. He created me and gave me one life to live, so it is always my desire to live as fully and healthfully possible.

With that being said, the goals I have for this time of my life, and hopefully for the rest of my life, all fall under the idea of “Whole Living.” These words get thrown around a lot in the health world, usually tied to some marketing campaign to make money. However, if you strip it down to its basic form, whole living is simply taking care of every part of your being: mind, body and spirit. Whole living is going back to the basics of life, and nourishing what makes our lives healthy and full. If every part of your being is not aligned in how healthy it is, there will be imbalance, which leads to stress and tension.

My whole living goals for this stage in my life:

  1. Sit less. Sitting has been compared to smoking in recent research studies, in that it can lead to chronic disease. I am an active person, getting well over the recommended amount of exercise each week, but I have become aware that I spend the majority of my day sitting. You may be thinking, how do you not sit when you have to work, or when you eat dinner, or when you want to watch tv? I made those same excuses, but there are options. Stand at your desk. On amazon, you can buy lifters for your desk so that you can stand to do the work you need to. Go for a walk after you eat dinner, instead of having all of the conversation at the table. During commercials, walk laps around your house. Join me in finding creative ways to be on our feet more than on our bums.
  2. Eliminate as much processed food as possible. I no longer want to use the excuses of not having time or not having the money to prepare foods, such as breads, cereals, granola bars, etc. I want to dig deeper into the whole foods lifestyle, eating what is natural and minimally processed. I believe in balance, but I also believe in not fueling my body with waste.
  3. Serve people more. I have already begun serving in my church, The Belonging, but I also want to serve the community of Nashville. It is important for me to love those around me, as Christ loves me, and I feel it is essential to calling a place “home.” Since I plan to stay in Nashville, Lord willing, after I complete my internship, I want to find my niche and pour myself out into this city.

To compliment these goals and the idea of whole living, I want to share a fellow dietitian & Nashvillian with you all. Her name is McKel and her site is Nutrition Stripped. My wonderful roommate, Katie, discovered her blog and social media sites, and shared them with me. I love how she has taken the knowledge of nutrition and has stripped it down to its basic form, in a way that is understandable and applicable for healthy living. One recipe, in particular, I want to share is her Super Seed Muesli. A wonderful wholesome breakfast that is easy to make, and inexpensive to prepare. It also allows room for variability, so it’s fun to make unique to your tastes. Below is my variation. I can’t wait to experiment with more!

DSC_0057

Wholesome Muesli

Servings: 20

Recipe adapted from: Nutrition Stripped

Ingredients
  • 2 cup buckwheat groats
  • 1 cup chia seeds
  • 1 cup amaranth
  • 1 cup quinoa
Directions

Stir the ingredients together and store in an airtight container (mason jars work perfectly) at room temperature.

To serve raw, add 1/4 cup of the muesli to 1/2-1 cup milk (any kind) & soak for at least 20 minutes.

To cook, add 1/4 cup of muesli to about 1 cup liquid of water or milk (may need more if too thick) and cook on the stovetop at medium heath until tender, about 20 minutes.

Serve with fresh berries, sliced banana, dash of cinnamon & nutmeg, honey, maple syrup, etc.

My favorite combination, so far, is 1/2 sliced banana, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, & a mix of seeds, nuts & dried fruit.

DSC_0071

Leave a Reply

