Dark Cocoa Peanut Butter Cookies

Historians believe cocoa was first discovered and consumed by the Olmecs around 1500-400 BC in the area that is now southern Mexico. They first found the cocoa fruit to be edible as they observed rats eating it. Very luxurious, isn’t it? Instead of running from the rats, as I would do today, they were amazed at this fruit and decided to crush it into a powder and consume it as a drink. Now this is a moment in history that I believe deserves a holiday. Today, cocoa powder can be found in almost every home in America, and probably most of the world. For me, it is a staple in my diet and I use every opportunity I can to use it in recipes.

On days like today, I am especially thankful for this powdered goodness. As a cookie craving hits me like a hurricane, I still want to be mindful of what I use to feed it, so I reach for the cocoa powder and get creative. These cookies were discovered completely by accident, and I must say I am proud of the result. I can’t wait to experiment with the recipe more in the future. Feel free to alter it however you like, and share any golden discoveries you come up with.

Dark Cocoa Peanut Butter Cookies

20150125_184516

Ingredients

1 ripe banana, mashed

1 egg

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 ½ tbl unsweetened dark cocoa powder

1 tbl pure maple syrup (or honey)

1 cup creamy natural peanut butter

1 cup old fashioned oats

½ cup whole wheat flour

½ tsp baking powder

½ cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F & coat a baking sheet with nonstick spray or line with parchment paper.
  2. Mix ingredients in order, until well blended. Fold in the chocolate chips last.
  3. Bake for about 10 minutes, until almost done because they will continue to cook when pulled out of the oven.
Leave a Reply

